Sun 01. July
19.30 h Schloss Augustusburg Prices A: € 30 / 24 / 20 / 14 / 10 / 7

Saison 2018 

Winged Passion

Severin von Eckardstein (Piano)

Severin von Eckardstein belongs to the most renowned pianists of his generation. He attracted attention as a prizewinner of numerous competitions, among them the ARD Music Competition and the Ferrucio Busoni Competition, and makes regular appearances on great international concert stages. He plays – in all his technical brilliance – not by thundering across the keys, but by handling the piano as a poetic medium of expression, and presents a well thought out program in the magnificent staircase at Schloss Augustusburg. Severin von Eckardstein dedicates himself to the merry months of Tchaikovsky’s rarely staged “The Seasons” and Schumann’s enchanting early work “Papillons,” and takes himself on a journey in French piano music, weaving together all the threads in Beethoven’s “Appassionata,” which is as expressive as it is virtuosic.

Robert Schumann (1810–1856)
“Papillons“ Op. 2 for piano

Claude Debussy (1862–1918)
“Nocturne“ in D-flat major, L 82, for piano

Gabriel Dupont (1878–1914)
“La maison dans les dunes“ for piano (excerpts)

Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky (1840–1893)
“The Seasons,“ Op. 37b, for piano (excerpts)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Sonata in F minor, Op. 57, for piano, “Appassionata”

Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonate C-Dur op. 53 „Waldsteinsonate“. Severin von Eckardstein (Klavier)


Schloss Augustusburg
Schloss Augustusburg