Sat 02. June
20.00 h Schloss Augustusburg Prices C: € 49 / 37 / 34 / 23 / 14 / 9

Saison 2018 

Vivaldi’s Seasons

Francesco Corti (Harpsichord)
Harmonie Universelle
Florian Deuter & Mónica Waisman (Violin and Conductor)

Antonio Vivaldi cast the changing of the seasons into an unrivaled monument, one that hasn’t lost any of its popularity and relevance in our present shaped by climate change When Vivaldi first brought his Concerto Op. 8 to the public in 1725 Venice, Bach’s harpsichord concerto followed only a few years later in Leipzig, being one of the first to establish the harpsichord as a solo instrument. In a charming German-Italian reversal of perspective, the Italian harpsichordist Francesco Corti will interpret Bach’s concerto, while the accomplished German baroque violinist Florian Deuter and the spirited Argentinian violinist Mónica Waisman present their view of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons with their Ensemble Harmonie Universelle – and in this jubilee year, picking up where they left off with their longstanding ties to the Brühler Schlosskonzerte.

Antonio Vivaldi (1678–1741)
Concerto Op. 8, No. 1-4, ”The Four Seasons,” for violin, strings and basso continuo

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)
Concerto in E major, BWV 1053, for harpsichord, strings and basso continuo

Concerto in F minor, BWV 1056, for harpsichord, strings and basso continuo

Air from the Orchestra Suite No. 3 in D Major, BWV 1068


Schloss Augustusburg
Schloss Augustusburg