Sun 27. May
19.30 h Schloss Augustusburg Prices C: € 49 / 37 / 34/ 23 / 14 / 9

Saison 2018 

Classical ways to the Romantic

Harriet Krijgh (Violoncello)
Württemberg Chamber Orchestra Heilbronn
Önder Baloglu (Violin and Conductor)

With her expressive playing, the exceptional young Dutch cellist Harriet Krijgh is in her element with Joseph Haydn’s Cello Concerto in C Major, which arose at the brink of the late baroque into the classical. Her instrument, a violoncello made by Giovanni Paolo Maggini in 1620, is ideally suited for this music as it captivates with chamber music’s clarity and virtuosic charm. The Württemberg Chamber Orchestra Heilbronn provides empathetic accompaniment and traces an arc from Mozart’s good-humored Symphony KV 201 with Tchaikovsky’s enchanting serenade for string orchestra: according to Tchaikovsky’s own account, this work, composed in 1880 with serene elegance and romantic intimacy, was meant to “pay tribute to his Mozart worship.”

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
Symphony in A major, KV 201

Joseph Haydn (1732–1809)
Concerto No. 1 in C major, Hob. VIIb:1, for violoncello and orchestra

Anton Bruckner (1824–1896)
Adagio from the String Quintet in F major, WAB 112

Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky (1840–1893)
Serenade in C major, Op. 48, for string orchestra

Joseph Haydn: Konzert Konzert Nr. 1 C-Dur Hob. VIIb:1 für Violoncello und Orchester. Harriet Krijgh (Violoncello), Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra


Schloss Augustusburg
Schloss Augustusburg